Facebook Icon twitter icon youtube icon instagram icon

Councilor Lori Decter Wright, Council Chair

A Tulsan by choice, Councilor Lori Decter Wright has called our city home for 12 years, including nine years in District 7.

Lori serves as the Executive Director of Kendall Whittier Incorporated (KWI), a community-based nonprofit organization focused on food insecurity in Tulsa's Kendall Whittier, The Pearl, and Crutchfield neighborhoods. KWI operates the only emergency food pantry in Tulsa that delivers groceries to doors five days a week, 52 weeks a year. KWI also sponsors three organic community gardens.

Prior to joining the staff at Kendall Whittier Incorporated, Lori served as Director of Education and Membership for Sweet Adelines International, a nonprofit association for women founded in Tulsa in 1948 that is currently headquartered near E. 91st Street and S. Yale Ave. During her seven years on the Executive Management Team, Lori helped lead the multi-million dollar organization to innovate new methods for delivering education, programming and member benefits to its 23,000 members worldwide. She also strengthened its youth outreach programs and assisted communities across the globe with empowering young women through music education.

Lori lives in the Shadow Ridge Neighborhood with her husband, Joseph, and their two children, Libby and Theo; she is President of the neighborhood homeowners' association. Lori also serves on the Board of Directors for Tulsa Opera and mentors local youth as they prepare for college. 

Prior to choosing Tulsa as the place to settle down and raise a family, Lori and her husband were professional opera singers based in Silicon Valley. Lori is an award-winning singer and has performed with world-class opera companies and symphonies across the United States and overseas. Tulsa's own excellent cultural offerings were a major factor in the Wrights choosing to build their lives here rather than in another city in the region. In recent years, Lori has returned to the stage avocationally, directing local musical theatre productions, performing in a variety of venues around town, and singing the National Anthem for local events. Joseph works as an inpatient Oncology Nurse at Cancer Treatment Centers of America. The Wrights are members of College Hill Presbyterian Church and Lori regularly shares her musical gifts with the congregation as well as other local churches and community performance groups.

Contact Information:

Phone: 918-596-1927

FAX: 918-596-1964

Email: Dist7@tulsacouncil.org

Councilor Decter Wright is also on Facebook.

Disclaimer: The opinions or policy positions expressed on District webpages, either directly or indirectly, does not necessarily represent the view or position of the Tulsa City Council or the City of Tulsa.

District Links

Councilors news/blog/feed